Comic relief

It’s been a hell of a long time since the last post. I have to apologise for that, but in my defence I have been very busy, creating art, book covers for clients, and even creating a comic!

With the world in upheaval because of the Coronavirus pandemic, I’ve been working from home and this has given me time to take the plunge back into comics.

The last time I created any form of comics was about five years ago with the one-shot Bullet Ballerina, written by the late, great Tom Piccirilli and published by SST Publications in the UK. Before that, it was the graphic novel Witch Hunts.

Since then I’ve had this idea brewing away called Hellhunter, basically a full-on action-horror comic in the vein of Evil Dead and Resident Evil with an executioner style anti-hero. I recently completed the first 20-page introductory issue and the plan is to produce a series of much longer interconnected books. Check out the samples below!

I’m hoping to secure a publisher for the series soon, but it’s been a hell of a lot of fun scripting and drawing the first issue and a massive distraction from the monotony of isolation! I’d love to know what you think of the artwork, so please feel free to drop me a line or comment below.

I’ve also been creating a lot of pre-made book cover designs and some of them I’ve managed to sell. There’s a few below and you can, of course, see more of my work HERE

Feel free to contact me for book cover commissions at greg@darkscrybe.com

Some recent artwork for publishers:

Black Cranes, an Asian-themed horror anthology, coming soon from Omnium Gatherum Books.

Several covers for author Lucas Pederson.

A cover for a role-playing game.

That’s all for now. Please take a moment to follow this blog or my Facebook page. Stay safe!

About darkscrybe

Two-time international Bram Stoker Award-nominee®*, Greg Chapman is a horror author and artist based in Queensland, Australia. Greg is the author of several novels, novellas and short stories, including his award-nominated debut novel, Hollow House (Omnium Gatherum) and collections, Vaudeville and Other Nightmares (Specul8 Publishing) and This Sublime Darkness and Other Dark Stories (Things in the Well Publications). He is also a horror artist and his first graphic novel Witch Hunts: A Graphic History of the Burning Times, (McFarland & Company) written by authors Rocky Wood and Lisa Morton, won the Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel category at the Bram Stoker Awards® in 2013. He is also the current President of the Australasian Horror Writers Association. Greg lives in Rockhampton with his wife and their two daughters. * Superior Achievement in a First Novel for Hollow House (2016) and Superior Achievement in Short Fiction, for “The Book of Last Words” (2019)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Comic relief

  1. Tylor James says:

    Hi Greg,

    I would describe your artwork as vibrantly grotesque. I love your colors, and your style, both for the Hellhunter comic and the book covers. Perhaps I may humbly request a commission some day for a cover. Keep up the excellent work!

Leave a Reply to darkscrybe Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.